Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > Ford Australia Vehicles > Small and Mid Sized Cars > Fiesta, Festiva and Ka

Old 01-12-2011, 12:44 PM   #1
Ms_Jam

Default WS Fiesta - Long-term Review Part 1 of 3

After two years and three months, I thought I would write down my experiences with my 2-door manual 2009 WS Fiesta Zetec which has now done 35,000 km.

Why I bought it
I put some research into my purchase. What I liked was that the production model followed the concept car very closely. So to my mind it reflected the intentions of the designer, which is important to me, since I have some background in art. Partly that is why I chose the 2-door model. I was also told by an engineer that, other things being equal, a 2-door helps create a stronger body than a 4-door because the jigsaw has fewer parts.

One day I was walking up the High Street in Preston, and I saw in the distance a girl putting out a sandwich board on the footpath next to the car she had just got out of. As I got closer I could see it was a new Fiesta, and the sandwich board pointed that out. I just fell in love with it. Neither before or since have I seen that form of promotion. But it worked for me. However, t was a pity to have to wait five months from order to delivery from Cologne. I think I might hold the record here. Well, at least after that wait it did not turn out a lemon.

There are a lot of attractive but subtle features about the WS Fiesta Zetec, which I came to appreciate only after owning it for a while. These are things like the metal door sills, the effect of the ambient lighting and soft touches in the cabin, the projector lights and even the sound system. If you try a high-quality CD, you will be pleasantly surprised. I came to appreciate the design of the seats only after long drives.