Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > General Topics > The Pub

The Pub For General Automotive Related Talk

Old 20-09-2012, 09:17 AM   #1
No.6

Default Any advice for car servicing?

Gday all!

I'm not a mechanical guru when it comes to cars...im more of a visual artist and a driver lol. So i need a little advice from you guys...

I had a brain tumour removed about 6 months ago and because of that i havent been allowed to drive so my FG XR6T has been sitting in the garage gathering dust. She has been drivin every now and again, one trip to tamworth, one trip to hunter valley, occasionally around sydney but all up in the last 6 months she probably has been drivin less than 12 times and I have been starting her up once a week and running the aircon for 5 mins as advised in the book. I figured it might be a good idea to get the car serviced as i will be getting clearance to drive again soon so i was wondering is there anything that will definitely need to get checked? I dont want to take it to the mechanics and tell them the same story and having them tell me 'OH you will need a full comprehensive checkup, brakes replaced, fuel pump etc etc.' in an attempt to rip me off due to my mechanical knowledge.

Is it even necessary to get my car serviced?

Thanks in advance!

No.6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-09-2012, 10:45 AM   #2
Geez Louise
Awesome

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: All the behind the scenes things that help the community. 
Default Re: Any advice for car servicing?

When was it last serviced?
Old 20-09-2012, 10:45 AM   #3
ChRiDDa

Firstly, hope you're on the mend!

In regards to the car, good idea to get it serviced, esp given the fact it's been sitting there idle for quite some time

It's not the amount of k's the oil does that ruins it, it's age. Brake fluid might also be an idea to be changed as well